Discuss Apologies in advance for the dumb question on current... in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

S

Spark2be

If you take the domestic 230V and the standard Ze for a TNS of 0.8 ohms and using ohms law;
I = V / R you get a current of 287.5A
Where does the standard main 100A or 150A breaker fit into this?

Please excuse my naivety, I can't get my head around this and I probably need it spelt out to me :) be gentle, again I am a rookie!!

If you take the domestic 230V and the standard Ze for a TNS of 0.8 ohms and using ohms law;
I = V / R you get a current of 287.5A
Where does the standard main 100A or 150A breaker fit into this?

Please excuse my naivety, I can't get my head around this and I probably need it spelt out to me :) be gentle, again I am a rookie!!
They don't. You'd be lucky to get a 100A supply for anything where the Ze is 0.4ohms or above.

Last edited by a moderator:

Reply to Apologies in advance for the dumb question on current... in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Similar Threads

B
Prefix - I've tried to post this in automotive, but it would not let me. This may be because I have not been recently active. Apologies if this is...
Replies
Views
D
Hi I'm new to this forum and only posting because I'm stuck and cannot answer it myself I have a 2001 transit jumbo mobile workshop. I have...
Replies
Views
hi I have a question, it's a bit of a long one i'm afraid! It's from a book, and it's been niggling me for a while. Ok, An example of circuit...
Replies
Views
1livewire

OFFICIAL SPONSORS

Electrical Goods - Electrical Tools - Brand Names Electrician Courses Green Electrical Goods PCB Way Electrical Goods - Electrical Tools - Brand Names Pushfit Wire Connectors Electric Underfloor Heating Electrician Courses
These Official Forum Sponsors May Provide Discounts to Regular Forum Members - If you would like to sponsor us then CLICK HERE and post a thread with who you are, and we'll send you some stats etc