Discuss apprentice spark, what should you expect in the Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

C

chopper

hi ,people im an 3rd year apprentice spark, on my 3rd year at college and been doing the trade for about 3 years.my company are sending me out by myself 3 days out of 5, doing repairs on domestic housing,and also doing PIR on the empty houses, work isnt that hard but they always pushing with time limits etc,
just wondering if this is the norm for apprentices or are they taing the ****, talking to me as though i should know everything , and getting -------ings when wiring stuff wrong before testing,
i feel they are expecting too much but i wont do anything i am not sure with. but as work is hard to come by i have to stick to it,as this is very good experience if the least, i dont have my 17th or 2391, also what is the normal rate for a 3rd year adult spark. any advise please

do you feel confident and competent doing the pir`s ? and whose name is going on the cert?its all about experience and competency when doing pirs and also being able not only to do the test but code it correctly and know what the results you are getting are telling you. I know what you mean about them constantly loading extra on you. I had something similar a few years ago, yeh go out and do it by yourself then we can b****k you when you get back for taking too long. ?

yeah thats the one phill, yeah feel confident with pirs just could do with an hand some time on doing r1r2 pfc and ze on supply to flats etc, (when fed fom seperate isolater if you know what a mean)
its all good experience but they expect 2 much, then they want more,