Discuss Customer questioning his zappi EV charger. in the Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

Reaction score
Hi Everyone, before I start ill admit I have very little knowledge of EV chargers etc, I have had a question from a customer who has had a 7kw zappi installed and his wife has just bought an audi a3 tfsi e. This apparently will only charge at a max rate of 2.9kw as its a hybrid, hes concerned the 7kw zappi will damage this. To my very limited EV knowledge ive said the 7kw zappi will be fine as Its the car the holds the charger and it will only charge at 2.9kw. Is this correct?

Apologies for the inane question and appreciate any response.

Regards

Hi Everyone, before I start ill admit I have very little knowledge of EV chargers etc, I have had a question from a customer who has had a 7kw zappi installed and his wife has just bought an audi a3 tfsi e. This apparently will only charge at a max rate of 2.9kw as its a hybrid, hes concerned the 7kw zappi will damage this. To my very limited EV knowledge ive said the 7kw zappi will be fine as Its the car the holds the charger and it will only charge at 2.9kw. Is this correct?

Regards
The battery management system protects the battery from overcharge by slowing down the charging process as the battery nears 100% and then stops charging. Making it so you can't overcharge your electric car

Regards
Correct.

The charge point merely informs the vehicle of the charge point's limit (7kW), and upon request from the vehicle, turns the power on.

It is in effect a fancy socket outlet.

The charger within the vehicle then charges at whatever is the lowest limit ( in this case the charger itself).