Discuss Domestic installer and other works. in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Reaction score
Im a domestic installer for around 4 years now.

Have a few contacts from schools that have small electrical jobs that need to be done

Such as Replacing emgency light fittings installing new circuits. Emegency light testing, replacing ballasts. Changing broken light fittings.

Am i legally allowed to conduct the above works with out being an approved contractor or only holding the following?

And only holding the 18th edition and a lv2 nvq never got round to doing the nvq lv3?
[automerge]1577069900[/automerge]
Also should add i have also worked with an approved contractor (who is retiring ) for the past 3 years

Last edited:
Im a domestic installer for around 4 years now.

Have a few contacts from schools that have small electrical jobs that need to be done

Such as Replacing emgency light fittings installing new circuits. Emegency light testing, replacing ballasts. Changing broken light fittings.

Am i legally allowed to conduct the above works with out being an approved contractor or only holding the following?

And only holding the 18th edition and a lv2 nvq never got round to doing the nvq lv3?
[automerge]1577069900[/automerge]
Also should add i have also worked with an approved contractor (who is retiring ) for the past 3 years

Have a look at 'Persons' in definitions in BS7671. More importantly, what scope does your insurance policy categorise your work?

Have a look at 'Persons' in definitions in BS7671. More importantly, what scope does your insurance policy categorise your work?
My insurance covers it in its scope of my works...

Persons (skilled, instructed, ordinary)

Skilled person, doesnt give a list of qulifications...

So does that mean as long as you are skilled you can do the work? And your insurance covers it in its scope?