Discuss Dopey First Post in the Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

G

gbrad

Apologise for my ignorance but I'm really new to this game, just recently passed my Part P and 17th.
Anyway I'll get to the point, my missus has gone out and bought a cheap flush fit bathroom light from B&Q for me to swap over.

Took the old one down, straightforward block connector inside it. The new one is where I've got the problem, it doesnt have and connector block, but 2 push in connectors at the back of the lampholder. Havent used one of these before, wanted to know whether to use chokblok and use singles from that into the back of the lampholder as the push connectors look pretty small and I cant see me fitting the existing wires into them. I don't have much cable to play with either so it would be a stretch.

Probably the most basic post in a good while but I havent come across this type of fitting before and I want to make sure I get it right cos I'm sure I'll come across it again.

Probably easier to go buy the fitting myself too next time and get something decent!

ah i see the problem straight away!!!

as detailed below

1) as you described "missus" buying stuff (serious problem)

2) B&Q (not as bad as point 1 but still bad)

3) you say you have done 17th and part P and you don't know how to fit a Light...!! (Massive problem)

im sorry if it feels like im having a dig on point 3

Ok any ways back to the post, why not get some twin and earth and strip it back from the sheath and give your self some "singles" joint them in to chock block that is attached already and then join the "extended cables" in to the push connectors, they probably good for upto 1.5mm solid cable.

steve

curiosity...!! you got a link for the new light from the B&Q site...???

Last edited by a moderator: