Discuss Earthing of standby generators in the Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

Reaction score
Afternoon guys. Recently been asked to do a generator changeover switch for a friend it’s a 6.0kva standby generator . The earthing system is tnc-s . Just seeking a bit of advice with regards to earthing requirements as it’s a portable gen . Also it will be sitting on top of block paving . Can’t see an easy way to drive an eart rod in. The output wiring is neutral and earth are separate . I’m a fully qualified electrician have all up to date qualifications just haven’t had any dealings with standby generator equipment . Any advice would be appreciated.

You could run a 10mm earth from the main earth terminal of the house. I would link the neutral and earth at the generator and make sure the changeover switch switches the neutral as well as phases.

I've been putting off asking the question on here as I know the can of worms it usually opens! I hope you don't mind me piggybacking onto your thread as it's essentially the same question.

I'm being strongarmed into wiring up a generator for my inlaws. I can't really get out of it! They've already bought the below generator.

I think I know pretty much what needs doing, it's just the best/safest way of going about it.

Looks as though the earth is 'floating', so will presumably need to link neutral and earth somewhere close to the generator. Perhaps in the 32A commando appliance inlet?