Discuss Earthing question - TNC in Bulgaria - DIY in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Reaction score
Hi all,

For clarity, I'm not a qualified electrician, but have a reasonable amount of experience as I've done plenty of wiring (signed off by a proper sparky) as a farm manager in the UK.
I now have a house in Bulgaria which we bought some five years ago and have been slowly modernising during any holidays. We have now moved over full time and I want to rewire as the wiring here is ancient and of very very dubious quality. Anyone who's seen old Bulgarian house wiring will know the sort of thing. Flat two core wire fixed with nails between cores, two or three china and wire fuses for the whole system and lights that piggy-backed off of the two pin sockets. The sockets themselves are either not earthed in some cases or share a joined negative / earth back to the fuse board. I originally put in a small CU to separate some of stand alone items such as the washing machine and cooker but had to follow the same combined earth neutral as most of the wire is two core. I now wish to put in a decent CU and new three core wiring throughout, making the system a TN-C-S one. I don't trust the old wiring as the house is 100+ years old and some of the wire is at probably 50 going by the old cloth style insulation tape used in many places. I'm worried that if one of the earth / neural cores break, items will become live, so it needs doing ASAP.

So, to my questions -