Discuss Electricity supply to garage in block in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Dfghjk

DIY
Reaction score
Hi
I need advise. I like to supply electricity to my garage en block for fridge and freezer. Garage is about 50 yards away from my garden. My neighbour has no objection is I pass wire alongside fence wall using a steel post. The wire will stay within my and neighbours boundary wall and not towards public use side of garages. A qualified electrician will do the job. I like to know through forum if I need to contact local permission to carry this electricity extension from my house to my garden then through my neighbours garden to garage. Thanks
sk

First, I'm not a lawyer.

Unless this is council housing, or the garages are council owned and rented out, then you won't need their permission. If the houses or garages are privately rented you'll probably need the permission of the landlord. If you and your neighbours are owners then nobody needs permission.

The work is notifiable with respect to Building Regulations, but as long as the electrician you use is registered that won't be a concern.

Be aware that if your neighbour sells then the new owner could ask you to remove the cable, or pay him to use his garden and/or his fence.

Thanks all for replying to my query. The houses are free hold and not council and rented. Electrician is ok to carry work following building regulations. Thanks for pointing things like speak further with neighbour in case a new owner becomes my neighbour. Will check that.

What, you need to speak to them and ask them before you start working on council or other.
TBH I'm not sure what you mean.

The OP asked if he needs to "contact local permission", which I interpreted as meaning permission from the local council. I may well have been totally wrong.

But I was pointing out that unless the council own the properties, no permission from them is needed.