Discuss feasibility of three-phase power in mobile catering trailer in the Commercial Electrical Advice area at ElectriciansForums.net

hie27

-
Reaction score
Hi all.
First, I have to admit that i have no experience and very little knowledge in electrics and I'm therefore looking for some general practical advice. I am wanting to start my own mobile catering business but i am still in the planning stage. I want to know if three-phase power is really a viable option for starting a business that is relatively small-scale at least at the start. At the moment i have a blank canvas trailer and all of the circuitry and appliances still need to be inserted. The reason why I am even considering three-phase power is that there are some really great mini-industrial ovens that can reach 500c that you just cannot get one-phase. The only other option to hit those sorts of temperatures is woodfire ovens and they require some skill and continuous management. I am really attracted to the idea of having a small but high output oven. The oven in question is rated at 32a 4.5kw. Apart from that i would need a fridge and topping table, which would be one phase. Is 3 phase circuitry significantly more expensive than one-phase? And is integrating the other one-phase appliances into a three-phase system complex?

4.5kW is not 32A, it's 19A single phase.

3 phase is not a problem. However what sort of hook ups are you looking at using?

3 phase isn't always available on some pitches or will you be using your own generator?

Hi, sorry perhaps i got the kw wrong. I will double check. The oven is definitely three phase as it has got the red 5 pin. I will check again thanks. And, yes, the idea was to use my own generator, although size i imagine it would be quite sizable.