Discuss Greetings and Salutations - DC Designer wants to learn electrics in the The Welcome Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

NetMark

DIY
Reaction score
Greetings and salutations,

I am new to this forum and this is my first post. How is everyone

I'm new to the world of electrical installations but do have a little hands on experience requiring socket outlets and adding spurs. I am keen to learn more and I am looking into gaining some form of electrical installation certification (actively looking for advice on this subject) so that I can undertake notifiable work. I have a large outdoor garden project underway and Ideally I would like to fit my own outdoor lighting and add a circuit to the outbuilding in time.

In my day job I am a Computer Network Data Centre Designer so I am technically minded for picking up electrical theory.

youmay find tha one of the short intensive course as provised by Tradeskills4u and XS to qualify as a domestic installer would suit you. you would not be a qualified sparks ( that takes 3-4- years) but it would allow you to join niciec for domestic/notifiable works.

Bear in mind you will need an MFT and and an understanding of how to conduct the various tests. There are some good books available as well as YouTube videos.

Excellent idea to acquire knowledge and skills and test equipment, and as long as a particular formal qualification doesn't cost too much, go for it.

But it makes no sense whatsoever to register with a competent person scheme so that you can carry out notifiable work without paying Building Control.

Thanks for the replies.

My intention was to do the City and Guilds 2365 level 2 course at college which would take a year then maybe move onto the level 3 course. I've got the money for the courses so cost not an issue.

I've already started reading through the City and guilds electrical installations textbooks.