Discuss How many DC adapters on a power strip? in the Electrical Wiring, Theories and Regulations area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

Reaction score
I am totally new to the science of electricity and power circuits... I have a large number of 4.5V Switching Mode Power Adapters, (4.5V, 1000mA) for a miniature scale village that I am building. I would like to create a custom power strip (AC) with a larger than usual number of sockets (around 15-20 sockets) and was wondering how many of these switching mode DC adapters can I actually plug into a single power strip before I risk overloading the power strip itself?

Your power adaptors can supply about 5 watts, so they are not going to be consuming as much as 10 watts each.
So 100 of them would consume under 1000 watts, less that a kettle or a fan heater.
However being switch mode, there are possibly waveform transient considerations.
I don't think you would have a problem using 30 of them from a single supply. (and incidentally that 300watts or less will be mostly dissipated in the lights, not in the power supplies, so I don't forsee an overheating problem - but keep an eye on that though)

However I would discourage you from DIY'ing a large number of sockets when you can buy properly manufactured strips to do the job. For example, two of these would presumably work for you:

Last edited:
Thanks for the feedback.. you are correct, the prebuilt strips are the way to go... Was not sure how to figure out the correct load... Each one of these power adapters is rated at 1000mAh, so I guess a 12A or 15A rated strip would be more than sufficient.