Discuss Is this electricity meter wired correctly? in the Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

ECampbell

DIY
Reaction score
Hello,

Last year we started getting really high readings over the colder months (we'd expected this but not 5x the amount of electricity being used) We contacted a family friend who was an engineer who said that our meter is incorrectly wired up. We then spoke to our energy provider with this information but they said the meter was fine and they would send out their own electrician to "show us how the wires worked". When their electrician came wound he said the wires were installed incorrectly and replaced the meter. The energy readings then went down. We have therefore disputed the amount charged but our energy provider isn't having any of it.

I'm no engineer so I apologise if this sounds very complicated but I was wondering if something is plausible. The flat we are renting changed from storage heaters to electric heaters around 2-3 years ago (before we moved in). Prior to this the storage heaters would turn on during the night time (12am-7am). When the newer electric heaters were installed I'm guessing someone came and changed it so the heaters (and seemingly a water heater) can be turned on at any point of the day (like the other electrics in the flat). I have a suspicion (hence why I'm asking if it's plausible) that when the heaters were changed from the old storage to new electric the engineer changed the wires over he didn't disconnect them from the 12am-7am related system, and as a result they've been read twice. This is backed up by the fact when we moved into the flat we could turn the heaters on at any point, since the engineer changed the meter (i.e. "fixed" the wiring) the heater sockets only now work 12am-7am.