Discuss Kitchen sink electric shocks in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

A

Andy Ozimek

Hello guys,

Could anyone kindly help with this : when kitchen kettle goes on there seem to be some current leak to the kitchen metal sink nearby. Please can you give few directions in terms of fault finding with this, what am I looking for, steps how to check, etc.

I am a domestic installer, familiar to safe isolation, etc. but never came across something like this. Thank you all for your time!

Kindest Regards
Andy

Last edited by a moderator:
I do not want to be picky here, but electrocution means literally "to put to death by means of electricity.."
I hope that you do not mean that!!

Does this occur with something else (eg toaster)?
Does this occur if the kettle is used on another socket?

Things that you need to do immediately.
1. check that Main Protective Bonding is in place to water and/or other services and that is is actually connected to the MET.
Test the resistance of the bond.
2. Carry out an EFLI test on the socket in question
3. Check earth and insulation resistance on the kettle

Dave, I will find the fault with help from people like Taylor. Thanks for your time anyway ��

Hello guys,

Could anyone kindly help with this : when kitchen kettle goes on there seem to be some current leak to the kitchen metal sink nearby. Please can you give few directions in terms of fault finding with this, what am I looking for, steps how to check, etc.

I am a domestic installer, familiar to safe isolation, etc. but never came across something like this. Thank you all for your time!

Kindest Regards
Andy