Discuss Live working on DC -48V systems in the Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

Reaction score
Afternoon all,

Just after a bit of advice and clarification on an issue that was presented to me today. For a bit of background I work in the telecoms industry and today was notified of a manager for a client I work for, advising live working in DC distribution boards. More specifically, isolating the specific MCB which said circuit relates to, removing the relevant equipment, and then removing the relative MCB from the DC board without isolating the whole thing.

As far as I'm aware and in all of my recent teachings, it's simply that live working is not permitted under normal circumstances (regardless of AC/DC and system voltage) and unless it is absolutely unavoidable - which simply isn't this case. This was advised due to wanting to minimise downtime for radio equipment by only isolating the specific circuit which as I've said, is fine, but the removal of the MCB after this shouldn't happen without the whole board being isolated surely?

Thanks in advance.

You are quite correct with regards to working live. Why not leave the breaker in place.

You are quite correct with regards to working live. Why not leave the breaker in place.

Exactly, this was the solution I gave to my boss but I just wanted to check that I hadn't missed anything regarding DC. Ultimately, if they want no downtime this is the way it will go.

Will you have to remove the circuit from the board because it will be live even with the mcb off.

Will you have to remove the circuit from the board because it will be live even with the mcb off.