Discuss Melted plug pins - slight brown mark on socket! in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Reaction score
Good morning, I am a complete electrical novice - recently bought a Dyson AM09 Hot + Cool Fan Heater, I live in a rented stone cottage half-way up a mountain & my aga broke down, ill-health & cold led me to the Dyson, however just unplugged it & one of the plug pins has melted plastic(?) at the base of one of the pins. I can plug it in but not right down. Can I change a Dyson plug, but would that invalidate guarantee - surely they won't take it back? & why the melted pin? Help!

Ludmilla

Good morning, I am a complete electrical novice - recently bought a Dyson AM09 Hot + Cool Fan Heater, I live in a rented stone cottage half-way up a mountain & my aga broke down, ill-health & cold led me to the Dyson, however just unplugged it & one of the plug pins has melted plastic(?) at the base of one of the pins. I can plug it in but not right down. Can I change a Dyson plug, but would that invalidate guarantee - surely they won't take it back? & why the melted pin? Help!

Ludmilla
Where did you buy the heater?

If the Dyson is under guarantee take it back, leaving the plug on!
In truth, it may be a bad contact on the wall socket, so get your landlord to have that checked ( and don't use it meantime).

Damaged sockets are a problem. What sometimes happens is a worn socket causes heat damage to any plugs of items that are plugged into it. These plugs in turn can cause similar damage to other sockets and the problem escalates. Any sockets the heater has been plugged into should be replaced and obviously the plug on the heater needs replacing also. Fitting a new plug shouldn't invalidate any warranties if it's done by a competant person.