Discuss Newly Qualified in the Commercial Electrical Advice area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

Reaction score
Hello,

I am a newly qualified electrician (6 months ago). I did a 4 year apprenticeship. I am really struggling at the moment, I feel like I don't know basic things that I should be expected to know. I did 2 years of my apprenticeship working at a housing association and then moved to finish my final 2 years with a local electrician working on multi million pound new build homes. I don't feel as if I was taught very much in the last 2 years.
My boss doesn't really speak to much to me and clearly favours the one other sparky he employs. The other employee tells me where I am working and sorts stuff out for me etc. I never get asked to run a job or for any in put.

Is there any course or further learning I can do which can help me? I really want to know all I can about my trade and I really enjoy the work but just feel like I know nothing!

Thanks in advanced..

You joined today Wilkie but have you been reading this forum for all of those 4 years apprenticeship? Have you been investing everything into learning the theory and the experiences of others? I have read posts back to 2008 on this forum it is all there and you need to immerse yourself into it BUT everyone is different and learn different ways so that's my recommendation.

Hi W, sorry to hear you're a bit stressed out. You are not in any sense unique - many finish their apprenticeship with a very limited work experience. Your boss must have thought you were good enough when he employed you! Don't put yourself down. Don't be frightened to ask questions on here or at work. It's unfortunate your boss doesn't appear supportive at the mo, but show willing, keep in with the other spark and see how it goes.