Discuss Off grid solar shed setup by a non electrician in the Solar PV Forum | Solar Panels Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

Reaction score
I'll set the scene.

I'm not an electrician, I have no relevant qualifications but I do have experience with Solar PV (loosely) having had a system installed for some year and various other PV related items.

So I'm in the process of setting up my shed with some off grid power, for no reason other than to learn.

I have decided that Victron components look like a good place to start quality wise.

*I'll say again I'm not an expert so please feel free to point out if I'm making a mistake, your experienced comments are very much appreciated but I may in return ask some further questions, as I'm not an electrician*

I have 2 x 235w panels connected to a Victron Bluesolar MPPT 100/20 attached to a 44ah lead acid battery along with a 800va Victron pure sine wave inverter and a Venux GX controller.

I'm looking for tips on how to wire this up safely as at present this is simply wired as listed above, so I'm guessing I need some isolation, a shunt, an RCD or some fusing and a stake earth. I have made sure that my wiring is all rated at 30amps or above.

If anyone has any advice or articles I could read to learn from (I don't know any acronyms so I will not be offended if you dumb it down!)

Many thanks.

I think the level of guidance you might need is beyond a forum's capability to supply. There are a large number of technical considerations to apply especially once you are generating and using 230V systems.
Possibly you could take in the information in the MCS guide to solar PV, mainly directed to grid connection but gives some useful information.
If the system is not safe there can be significant risks involved.