Aico 3000 Range
This official sponsor may provide discounts for members
Advertisement - Content continues below

Discuss Reference method / routing guidance for cable on a wall with 25mm Celotex in the Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:  American Electrical Advice Forum

I wonder if anyone could assist with this query please ? I am a newbie, so any guidance or alternatives would be greatly appreciated.

I need to run a ring final partly against a wall with internal 25mm Celotex type insulation. The additional Celotex being needed due to reduced cavity insulation. Diagram below ! Also fyi, the Celotex and board are separate, not ‘backed’.

I’m trying to decide whether to “1”- clip to the thermal block, flush (with capping), under the Celotex; or “2”-go between Celotex and board, and consider the respective pro’s and con’s of each. …or any other options ?

I’m not 100% sure from the BBB what the reference method would be for the first route. Possibly 103 ? which would affect my ccc somewhat.

Taking route 2 would (might?) need me to channel slightly into the Celotex which is also frowned upon. ….What would you do ?

upload_2019-5-30_11-22-59.png

Test Meter - Forum Sponsors since 2007!

Ian1981

-
Mentor
Arms
Esteemed
If the cables are clipped to the thermalite block work then it is more like reference method C , as one side of the cable can loose its heat through the block work and into the cavity of the wall , the cable is not touching one side of the plasterboard in a cavity wall nor is it completely surrounded by insulation in a cavity wall.

Appendix 4 might give a different reference method so it’s worth having a look at it.

Last edited:

Wilko

-
Arms
Esteemed