Discuss Sonoff wifi switches with no earth pass-through, are they safe? in the The Welcome Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Reaction score
Hi all,

I'm new here and want to say thank you in anticipation for the advice you can give me -- I hope it's okay to dive on to this forum as a total newbie with a question rather than just an introduction, but I'd really appreciate some insights!

I bought a Sonoff wifi switch for about £8 from Amazon; I've fitted it to a modern table lamp, and it works very well. I'm thinking of buying some more, but I have several lamps which are made from old ceramic vases with a brass bayonet bulb holder at the top, all of which have 3 core cables to their plugs.

The Sonoff switch only has L and N connectors, no earth connector, and I can't see a neat way of connecting the earth from the lamp to the plug without using terminal blocks inside their own protective box or some other such Heath-Robinson setup.

My house has those circuit breakers in the consumer unit (RCDs?) but I don't know if they are a sufficient protection if I fitted these lamps with Sonoff switches and ignored the earth.

My gut feeling tells me that ignoring any safety device is done at one's peril but these switches are really convenient and easy to use so I'm hoping the answer will be positive!

Thanks in advance,
Jodi.

Hi Jodi and Welcome to the Forum!
Yes, you definitely need to carry the earth through to the lamps. Looking at the advert I can't see type approvals for UK use on the enclosure, which may be another concern.

Hi Wilko, thanks for the speedy reply and the welcome! Is there a better way of carrying the earth through that I haven't thought of? (My idea is pretty clunky and wouldn't look very attractive, involving terminal blocks and chocboxes...) Thanks!