Discuss Spanish wiring regs: the basics in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Reaction score
I'm assessing the extent of the work needed for a renovation project which has been recently, but I suspect poorly, re-wired. I'm not an electrician: I am, or was, a chartered engineer, so I should be able to work my way through this and evaluate the state, but I would love a bit of help to make sure I'm getting it right.
I'm looking at ITC BT 25. Is the right document to work from?

Last edited:
REBT is the applicable standard in Spain - however there are several members on here who live/work in Spain so hopefully someone can chip in fairly soon with domestic stuff.

Adding to my question: it seems what can go on each bank is defined. The C1 to C5 set up only allows 20 sockets. I hate not having enough sockets. If I want to go for the higher electrification option, and add a second bank for another twenty, defined as C7, do I have to add in C6, extra lights? I don't need them, but if there are more than five banks, must the sixth be lighting and not the extra socket bank?

I have some limited experience of Spanish electrics. I have posted many dodgy pics of dubious installations, some of them very funny, some a bit dire...it's not unusual to see outside lights run in bell-wire with choc-block connectors run over gardens and open to the elements. However, the electricians I have had in my house there have been very professional, (except they use wire-nuts!) and they do not charge much either.
All circuits are radials. That's good, in my opinion, and it's all singles run in conduits buried in the hollow block walls, with access plates at recessed JBs in every room.