Discuss Strange Waveform on Secondary of Mains Transformer in the Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

Reaction score
Hi Folks,
Although I'm not an electrical engineer, I've registered on this site in an effort to seek some advice regarding a strange "240v mains" issue I'm seeing in my work shop - I will explain.
The problem first came to my notice whilst trying to locate a 100Hz buzz on my amplifier. I traced to problem back to the 15-0-15v secondary of the mains transformer where I'm seeing a strange "glitch" on the AC waveform (pictures attached). In an effort to try and isolate this, I built a simple replica of the circuit using another transformer connected to a bridge rectifier and a 4700uf capacitor. All looked normal until I connect a load (90mA) across the capacitor and I then see the top of the waveform flatten off and the spike as shown in the pictures. Do I have some king a mains issue as I never seem this before?
Any advice would be appreciated.
Regards
Geoff.

Strange Waveform on Secondary of Mains Transformer Secondary AC - EletriciansForums.net

Strange Waveform on Secondary of Mains Transformer Secondary full waveform - EletriciansForums.net

Hi Geoff !
Interesting problem with a few causes ... can you draw the circuit that produces this waveform please :)

(eg - you mention a bridge rectifier but this pic is an AC waveform, where was it seen?)

Hi Folks, The amp is a Marshall AS80R (schematic attached).
I've noticed on my replica PSU set-up, its only when the 4700uf cap is connected is the waveform effected.
When I scope the speaker on the amp, I can see a spike occurring every 20mS (100Hz) and this is what I'm hearing. the 20mS spike seems to be everywhere and de-coupling seems to have no effect. I can even see it at different points on the chassis
Regards
Geoff.