Discuss What size cable do you use for new lighting circuits? in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

What size cable do you use for lighting circuits?

• 1mm

• 1.5mm

Results are only viewable after voting.
Reaction score
So im a third year apprentice and should be qualified next year (whoopee). One thing has always made me curious and that is what cable size should we be using to rewire or in a new build for lighting in 2021? OF COURSE this depends on the load and how it's installed etc but in general what size cable would you use?
Out of the three people I worked with only one of them used 1mm. I kind of levitate towards that side as well and I'll explain why right now -
1mm cable can handle 8amps when surrounded all sides with thick insulation. That's 8x230 so 1804 Watts. 16amps clipped direct, that's 3680 watts. If anything we are all gonna be seeing more and more LED's with low power consumption and even if we don't... Well we could still have 26, 70 watt bulbs in one circuit if the cable is surrounded in insulation... Which it rarely is. Usually it's ran on top of the insulation anyway. That doubles too 52 when clipped direct! I know the price difference isn't that much but it all adds up.
I would love to know the cable size you qualified electricians use and maybe if you have time a little comment explaining why. Like I said I should be qualified next year and want to evaluate everyone's opinions before I go ahead and make my own decisions in the future.

1mm in a small domestic property. Easier to terminate and never seen thermal damage due to insulation. Installations should be designed to use materials without waste so 1.5mm in this scenario is wasteful in my opinion. Some will no doubt disagree ;)
Totally agree with ImpededLoop.
I've never seen thermal damage due to insulation either.

1.0mm here for most applications. however,est to snap endof cable at termination esp. if screw on cable as opposed to cage