Discuss 1 year on but have questions.. in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Karl91

-
Reaction score
Hi guys,

So been in the job for a year now, I have done 1st fixing and a lot of ducting in that time, all in residential new builds.

The problem is my friends & family have been asking me to do jobs for them in their houses (outside lights, extra sockets, 2 way switching etc). I feel like because I've only worked in new builds I wouldn't be the most confident doing jobs in someones house as I have no experience. I keep thinking how would I do things like lifting up carpet & floorboards, drilling through walls, drilling holes in the ceiling etc without ruining the house! I also feel a bit silly being an electrician & not being able to confidently say 'yes i can do that for you'.

I have been thinking of ringing up smaller firms in my area as I would be able to do a wider variety of electrical work and gain more confidence.

Any advice from you guys would be appreciated!

Thanks

Tagging along with somebody doing domestic work would help but then again they know they are training up their competition...
I just think of it as my own house and how would I want to deal with it. Sometimes my way isn't the cheapest or quickest and if a customer wants a shortcut and is happy then all's good.

I've a few friends and family that would like various bits of work done. My moto is going to be ... practice on friends and family ;-). I'll let you know this time next year if I have any friends left.

I'm employed by a company and doing my level 3 at college but i'm 25 so i'm not doing the 'traditional' apprenticeship route straight out of school