Discuss 30 Amps DP mains supply concern in the Electrical Wiring, Theories and Regulations area at ElectriciansForums.net

Thirst

-
Reaction score
Note: I am not an electrician.

I have a large house that has been divided into 4 flats with an additional landlord supply, so 5 meters in total (2 smart meters, 3 dump meters). I recently noticed that there was damage to one of the supply side fuses. I called UK Power Networks who came and taped it up to temporarily 'make safe'. In doing do engineer made clear his surprise the property was being fed by a single phase cable and that really we should be on three phase. We've never blown the supply fuse and the cost of upgrading ain't cheap so for now we've decided a 'do nothing' approach is appropriate unless we hit problems, especially given appliances are becoming more efficient with time. I believe the supply fuse was 100Amp. UK power networks are however insisting on a section cut out to install a new supplier fuse - in doing so they will need to cut power to the property. Will they always replace like-for-like in terms of Amps?

Now my main question is:
Each of the 4 flats currently have 30Amp DP isolator switches next to the meters. Not only are they ancient, I'm concerned at the 30Amp ratings on them. Whose responsibility is this? Should the smart meter installers have picked up on them and suggested they be replaced first? Could I ask UK power networks to replace if I supplied new 100Amp DP switches? Are they likely to allow these to be replaced whilst they are doing the section cut out?

Help and advice please?

Screenshot 2019-01-08 at 16.30.42.png

Screenshot 2019-01-08 at 16.30.35.png

The question would be is what the load is, in each flat. What are you providing for your tenants?

The 30A isolators are just that, they isolate things, and do not provide any fusing.