Discuss Advice needed to earthing POE radios Ethernet setup in the The Welcome Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

scopio

-
Reaction score
Hi,
Apologise if this is not the right board to post about this subject and please be patient as I am not a qualified electrician.
I am extending internet access between two buildings about 30 meters apart via two Ubiquiti NBE-5AC-16 NanoBeam AC 5GHz 16dBi radios which I prefer them to be earthed to protect the equipment to which they will be connected to via cat6 shielded cable. The router, switch, APs', pcs' and photocopier are surge protected from a surge in the electrical circuit but not from a surge via the cat6 shielded cable from a lightning strike near by. I do understand that a direct lightning strike would fry everything and there is no protection from this. The radios are the preferred vehicle as an underground or catenary wire solution is impractical. In any case a catenary wire to carry the Ethernet cable between the two buildings would also require it to be grounded. Driving a ground spike into the ground is also impractical.
I intend to fit a Ubiquiti ETH-SP at each end of the setup on both buildings but I do not know if the surge protectors can be earthed to the existing earth block in the consumer units or to the banded domestic water pipes within the buildings. As I state above driving a dedicated ground spike is impractical.
The fitting of AC power sockets where necessary and the earthing would be carried out by a contracted qualified electrician while the Ethernet side of it I will carryout myself.
I just need to know how the ETH-SP surge protectors can be grounded so as to instruct the electrician your advised method.
See diagram attached.