Discuss Advice on Log Cabin Electrical Plan in the Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

Reaction score
Hi Folks,

I am in the process of building a log cabin in the garden and I am in need of some advice when it comes to the electricity supply. I have formulated the plan below which is the result of much research, so please be kind ;) Needless to say I am not an electrician so once the work is complete, I will get someone qualified to wire the CU's and test/certify the installation.

The plan is to run a single 7 meter 3 core 6mm SWA cable from a IP66 junction box mounted on the exterior of the house (connected to a 32a MCB in the house CU on the opposite side of the wall) to another IP66 junction box mounted on the exterior of the cabin just above floor level. The SWA cable will be directly buried in the ground at roughly a spade depth and will ultimately have a patio on top of it.

In the cabin, I will install a small 'garage' CU mounted just above floor level (aligning with the junction box on the exterior) populated with a 32a MCB and a 6a MCB. The 32a MCB will power 10 sockets on a ring circuit using 2.5mm T&E clipped to the side of the floor joists. Total length of the ring will be roughly 17 meters. The sockets will be used to power an electric oil radiator, TV, sound system, and possibly a kettle. The 6a MCB will power 5 LED lights on a radial circuit using 1.5mm T&E hidden inside trunking. The length of cable will be roughly 10 meters.

Now, the million dollar question... does anything in my plan break UK regulation?
Secondly, should I fit the cabin CU with an RCD or can I use the RCD from the house CU?
Thirdly, am I OK to mount the cabin CU roughly 30cm from the floor?

Thanks in advance.