Discuss Can I connect a 1000W with a 600w smart fan speed controller? in the Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

Reaction score
Hi everyone,

I'm trying to have a clear view of is ok to connect a 1000W industrial fan to a 400W Tuya smart fan controller. I have some knowledge about the electricity but I'm not totally sure if it matters the switch load as long as the fan has is own capacitor.

I'm asking this as I cannot find to buy a smart controller for the fan above 600w load.

I got few crypto mining rigs and need them ventilated. I want the fan speed to be controlled via Smart Life app using automation feature linked to the smart thermostat. And set the fan speed according to the room temperature.

Got already in place this system using 200W industrial fans, but need bigger fans. So I need to know if is any danger connecting the 1000w fan to the 400W smart fan speed controller.

Thank you in advance!

No, a 1000w load can’t be connected to a controller that is rated less than 1000w
Thanks James.

I actually connected it and it seems to be working and I'm not saying I did the right thing.

I'm asking now, even if it runs, what can go wrong?

The fan still has connected it's own capacitor. The motor won't be connected directly to the switch. See photos attached

Or, is there any way I could raise the load on the controller by adding/replacing any components. I got great soldering skills as I do phone microchip leve repairs.

Thanks for your time

Attachments

• Can I connect a 1000W with a 600w smart fan speed controller? IMG20210908193525 - EletriciansForums.net
    IMG20210908193525.jpg
    321.3 KB · Views: 9
Thanks James.

I actually connected it and it seems to be working and I'm not saying I did the right thing.

I'm asking now, even if it runs, what can go wrong?