Discuss Cooker wiring 13a or dp/so switch? in the Electrical Wiring, Theories and Regulations area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

Reaction score
Hi, total novice here but I really need help with this. Any input would be much appreciated. We recently moved house and the cooker in said house is ancient and costing us a fortune, so has to be changed so the existing cooker is wired to a double or single poled switch? I think? See picture.. The cooker we have in mind is under 1kw and instructions state to be wired to a 13a spur. Is the switch that's there OK and I can connect it using this existing (very thick) cable? Or do we need to put in a new spur? From what I've read the switch that is there is for heavier usage cookers but is it OK and safe to wire a new cooker too? Thanks in advance guys

Cooker wiring 13a or dp/so switch? 15569985391928643254113109829467 - EletriciansForums.net

behind the cooker you should find a cooker outlet point. this can be changed for a 13A FCU (spur) with no alterations to existing wiring. just be a bit awkward to get the 6mm cables in the FCU terminals but feasible.

Don't see it, if it's there it's not reachable (behind unit) so the existing set up (rcd or dp/sp switch) won't do? Is there another way to sort this? I'll see if I can get to it by taking out the backing of the unit but might not be possible, suppose I could always cut in between the cooker and the outlet point and put a spur in between or is that a bad idea? Are you saying there are two switches? The one in the picture and another one following that? Sorry for all the questions haha