Discuss Don't shoot me, I need some clarification. in the The Welcome Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

M

Michelle Salt

I'm not an electrician, I'm a chemist, and although I think I know the answer I need a clarified clear answer from someone who knows what they are on about.

Its not strictly electrical but my MS (multiple Sclerosis) nurse told me what MS was using this analogy.

Imagine you have a lamp... and a little mouse comes along a nibbles half way through the cable. The lamp wont work properly. Now imagine a rat comes and nibbles all the way through the cable, the lamp doesn't work at all. MS is like the mouse!!!

So I heard this, and aside from momentarily wanting to punch her in the face for being patronising, my brain went to the basic science. Am I right in thinking that we would have a dead mouse and a dead rat and that infact the lamp would either work or it wouldn't (obviously with a dangerous wire).

Sorry, don't yell for stupid questions, but this is bugging me and I am amidst writing a letter explaining why my medical team suck.

Also, where would one find a clear diagram to wire a cooker, my friend wired mine and the grill don't work along with the clock. I'm thinking the wiring oppose to a fault, any thoughts? How much is a general cooker wiring job?

Hi M, sorry to hear of your troubles.
It certainly happens that we get called out to a fault and we find cables nibbled by rats and mice (or even nicked by two two legged rats). Personally I've not seen one zapped, as to stop the service working you only need to sever one of two wires, one of which is live and even that one is likely protected by the RCD safety switch these days. We are kind to all creatures :) .
Re your cooker, this is standard fare and so should not be hard to sort. Many good folks here if you want help.

Michelle, sorry to hear that you are going through something new and unknown.