NICEIC Certification Scheme EICR Remedial Works evidence

Discuss EICR Remedial Works evidence in the Periodic Inspection Reporting & Certification area at ElectriciansForums.net

FreeBeam

DIY
Reaction score
Hi all,

Newbie here and looking for some advice and confirmation. We are planning to rent out our home and have completed EICR through the agents. The EICR came back with a few C2.

240v fan in shower cubicle C2
Socket backbox damaged in lounge C2
Socket backbox damaged in hallway C2
IP of boiler spur C2
IP of garage socket C2
Connection of kitchen downlights not enclosed C2

The quote came out to be £455 to fix the above C2s from the same company carrying out the EICR. I am not sure if this is reasonable but my question is about the remedial works itself.

The same company completed the remedial works and has issued a cover letter stating that works have been done quoting a reference to each C2 and now the overall assessment is "Satisfactory" with a reference number to the EICR. The cover letter does not have any name, stamp, signature but just company's address on the top right. Is it an acceptable type of evidence for the remedial works? Or do we need to some standard certificate or signed paper?

Thanks

soulds OK. you have the EICR and evidence to show that the faults have been rectified.

I do, however, disagree with someof those codings. e.g. a 240V fan ina showere enclosure is perfectly
comliant as long as the IP rating is IPX4 or better.

damaged back boxes a C2 if there's a potential danger evident. if not, then a C3 is the right coding

Those IP ratings, can't say without seeing.

downlight connections unenclosed is only a C3.

£455 seems excessive for that half day's work.

Never known a boiler switch needing to be IP rated unless it’s outside.
Same with garage socket, unless inside of garage is likely to get wet (spray washing inside?)