Discuss Electric shock from electrically heated towel rail in the Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

J

Jimmy_Trick

Hi Folks,

Bit of an introduction thread - I'm a total newbie on this forum and looking for a bit of advice.

Just moved in with my gf for the first time as tenants in a nice new build flat. We're the first people to live in there since it was built.

We're moving in yesterday and she and I keep getting odd little electric shocks from stuff. First we noticed our dyson (handheld, battery power) kept giving us little electric shocks.

Then, more worryingly we noticed that the 'edge' of the electric towel rail was giving us weird static shocks. This electric towel rail is a chrome, liquid filled jobbie that's electrically connected to the wall, but is isolated in the 'plumbing' sense from the rest of the water supply => i.e. it's a self contained unit.

At first we thought it was just static - it's a brand new property, we were getting a bit mucky moving lots of boxes and we thought we were probably just picking up charge as we were wearing knackered old primark clothes to move things about.

Noticed that every time we touched the 'edge' of the electric towel rail we got a little shock on the backs of our hands. We didn't get it from our palms (I presume we've got thicker skin => higher resistance than the shin skin on our backs). We also only noticed it on the 'edge' of the electric towel rail, which kinda made sense, as when we touched the main 'body' of the steel rails there was enough conductor that the path of least resistance was still 'within' the metal.