Discuss Experiencing volt-drop within household in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

bridav

-
DIY
Reaction score
Hi All,

I am not a qualified electrician - please be gentle!

I had renovation done to my house last October which included a complete refitted kitchen. The new kitchen included a new Neff double oven in which has been working like a charm since last it was installed (including both ovens being on at the same time!).

Suddenly, yesterday the double oven has decided to stop working, checked the distribution board and nothing has tripped. I have tried getting in touch with the electricians that did the installation, but has failed to get back in touch. Therefore, decided to investigate the matter further. I put my multi-meter over the live and neutral terminals on the oven and it read 150V AC, I have checked the outgoing voltage at the MCB which read 240V AC. I thought I may either have:

1. a bad switch
2. a bad MCB
3. a bad connection
4. may be an earth leak

I have tried changing the switch and the MCB, no change to the volt reading [whilst disconnected from the oven]. I have tried tightening the terminals within the distribution board in case of loose connections, no such joy!

Other observations, I noticed that the cable exiting the oven is BLUE and BROWN whereas the cable leaving the distribution board is RED and BLACK. I cannot find the join for this cable as I fear it may be tucked behind the newly plastered walls and ceilings!

Any assistance or information on how to rectify the above volt drop without punching holes about the house would be much appreciated.

Many thanks,
Brian