Discuss Help wiring a lightswitch - Two-dimmer switch controlling two light fittings in kitchen in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Reaction score
I need help wiring a lightswitch because I can't get it to work.

I have attached photos of the switch and what I'm going to call the 'wall wires'. The switch is two dimmers, each one turns on and dims one of two light fittings in my kitchen. Two of the 'wall wires' are tagged with what look like the 'earth' colours and the 'live' colour, though I don't know if they are in fact earth and live. When I took the original switch off, there was also a linking wire which linked two terminals together.

I would greatly appreciate if someone could figure out from the photos what needs to go where as this is driving me crazy! You can probably tell by now I am not a qualified electrician.

Cheers

IMG_8454.jpg IMG_8455.jpg IMG_8456.jpg IMG_8457.jpg

I have attached photos of the switch and what I'm going to call the 'wall wires'. The switch is two dimmers, each one turns on and dims one of two light fittings in my kitchen. Two of the 'wall wires' are tagged with what look like the 'earth' colours and the 'live' colour, though I don't know if they are in fact earth and live. When I took the original switch off, there was also a linking wire which linked two terminals together.

I would greatly appreciate if someone could figure out from the photos what needs to go where as this is driving me crazy! You can probably tell by now I am not a qualified electrician.

Cheers

View attachment 38463 View attachment 38464 View attachment 38465 View attachment 38466
The two red wires tapped together, were they joined together at the original switch position? we will need to know in order to answer your question.

was the original switch a 2gang or 1gang? -if it was a 2gang- was it acutally controlling 2 different zones or did only 1 switch do something?

if the orginal was only 1gang.....