Discuss High EFLI on TN-S, DNO won't fix in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

S

Sloaneranger37

Hi all

Firstly, I'm not an electrician but have found these forums extremely helpful reading over the last couple of weeks due to a running battle I've been having with UK Power Networks. Hoping some of the experts on here might be able to shed some light on the below...

I recently arranged for British Gas to come and replace my old boiler. As part of the pre installation process they did some electrical testing and found an EFLI reading of approx 20. BG won't go ahead with the installation until this is resolved and advised me to contact my DNO (UK Power Networks - am based in London) and get them to take a look.

UKPN came out last week and did some tests. They confirmed the EFLI reading as fluctuating between 6 and 11.5. The main earth in my house is clamped to an incoming pipe and the UKPN guy confirmed my setup was TN-S (can post a couple of photos if helpful). His advice was that as UKPN didn't install my set up (not sure how he worked that one out) it isn't UKPN's problem and I needed to get an electrician out to either install an earth spike or to potentially have my system converted to PME. I have an electrician coming tomorrow.

Been on the phone to UKPN again today, who told me there are 2 types of TN-S system, one which they've installed and will maintain, and one where the main earth has been clamped onto the incoming supply where they won't maintain it (sounded like BS but there you go). Lady on the phone said I'd need to get my own electrician to either "have a go at installing his own version of TN-S" or stick an earth spike in. She also said that to convert me to PME, they'd need to book it in as a new connection which would cost £1000s since there wasn't a satisfactory earth present. Seems others in similar situations on here have been able to get the DNO to convert to PME for £100-200.