Discuss Inspection and Testing - EAL or City & Guilds? - Professional Development in the Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

J

joshlobb43

Good Afternoon Sparks,

I am currently a maintenance electrician however I have experience in domestic, commercial and industrial installs. I am looking at completing the inspection and testing 2394 + 2395 in the next month or so as my partners job is taking us to London. So in an effort to help me find work I am paying for my self to do 17th edition, inspection and testing and will be applying for my ECS card.

I have NVQ level 3 in electrical maintenance and BTEC level 3 in electrical/electronic engineering.

My queries to all you helpful chaps is this:

- Will I be restricted to finding work since my ECS card will say electrical maintenance on the front?

- I have a choice to do the EAL inspection and testing or the C&G version. I am told the C&G version is harder. Once completed I understand that you then send off your certification to prove that you have completed 2394 + 2395.

Has anybody done the EAL version?
Does it state EAL on your ECS card?
Is the EAL version looked upon as less favourable?

I am not looking to take short-cuts I would just like to know what is best in the long run before I invest time and money.

Any advice from people who have been through the transition I am currently going through would be helpful.

It is much appreciated if you have taken the time to read this and any advice I can be given I will be extremely grateful for.

I had a look through the threads and couldn't see a topic on this. Sorry if it is duplicated.

Josh!

EAL - on line multi choice open book exams only
C&G - on line multi choice and full written exams, all closed book.
Both courses include practical assessments.