Discuss Is this cable suitable for outdoor use? in the Solar PV Forum | Solar Panels Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

volineou

DIY
Reaction score
I recently bought a solar panel that I will attach to the roof of my van.
It's a flat flexible solar panel and a 3 m cable is already attached to it.
I'm however a little worried that this cable is not suitable for outdoor use, thinking about the UV stability and temperature tolerance of the cable sheath. It will naturally be exposed to a lot of UV, but may also be exposed to temperatures down to -30 deg C in extreme cases. Since I will glue the panel on the roof I really don't want to find out the cable failed after one year and go through the pain of trying to remove the whole panel.

What made me doubt the cable is simply that the cable is white - I always thought that UV stable cables were black apart from some special cases. I'm very open to be wrong however - beacause really, I have very little knowledge about this.

The cable is very flexible, circular, "soft and smooth" PVC and feels somewhat similar to other outdoor cables I have seen (not the stiffer type typical to indoor lampcoord sheath).
The full label on the cable is:
CCC A089397 JIN HUAN QIU 60227 IEC 53(RVV) 2X1.5MM2 300/500V GB/T5023.5-2008 PVC CABLE

I've tried to find information based on the label, but cannot find anything regarding UV stability and temperature tolerance. I'd be very grateful for some pointers!

Cheers

If the cable is already supplied attached to the panel, it is safe to assume that it is suitable for uv exposure.

Results of a quick search.... H05VV-F/H05VVH2-F 60227 IEC 53 (RVV) | Ningbo Ninggang Cable - http://ninggangcable.com/h05vv-f.html

Which does actually say not suitable for external use.

H07RN-F would be my go to cable for where you are located!