Discuss Just starting out - advice appreciated, banter gratefully received! in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

F

fall-apart-dave

Hello chaps

I'm an ex-RAF engineer (electronics - TG3/4 for anyone ex-RAF), and then moved to offshore as a geophysics engineer (that was more a multi-skilled role involving hydraulics, electrical, compressors, electronics, IT, sat comms etc) on a ship.

After taking voluntary redundancy (successive pay cuts over the last couple of years, greater expectation of time away and expected to be "on call" at all times when not away offshore, it went from being the best job I ever had to the very worst!), I've spent my redundancy pittance (I was badly stitched up) on qualifying as an electrician. So, did the Domestic Installers package offered by PASS to add to my existing quiver of qualifications (mostly electronic and electrical) and thought I would try my hand at being an electrician and working for myself.

So, having just finished the installers package (barring the full scope part P section) I am now ready to go. So, for you chaps out there I'd very much appreciate a few pointers...

CPS schemes - is there a difference between them? I am in touch with NICEIC at the moment, but have noticed that STROMA are much cheaper. Or is it very much of a muchness?

Test equipment - I was looking at procuring a Megger MFT 1720, I am familiar with it and it's a nice bit of kit, but do I need such a high-end one? The price difference is quite a bit between these and more basic models, the type of work I am hoping to start with is commercial and domestic stuff, from fault finding and repairs to re-wires and installations, my line of thinking has always been "Buy the best you can afford" - but would I be overkilling it here?