Discuss Light Fitting Problems in the Industrial Electricians' Talk area at ElectriciansForums.net

K

kuczer1

I'm not very good with electrics so i don't know correct terminology or anything so please forgive me in advance. Basically my friend tried to fit a light fitting for me and he couldn't do it. Upon removing the original light fixture he noticed four cables coming from the light each cable seperated into a red and a black wire. He has tried using each of the seperate cables and each time the light switch stays on all the time wether the light switch is on or not. Anybody know what this could be?

It's not a problem with the light fitting, it's a problem with your friend.

You've got a loop in lighting circuit. Very simple and I'll try to explain it in laymans terms. Circuit starts at the CU and daisy chains from one light fitting to the next until the last fitting on the circuit. For the basic circuit you have two cables to each fitting, one in from the previous and one out to the next, until you get to the last fitting which only has one cable in (obviously).

Each of these cables should have three conductors, a live, neutral and an earth. Quite simply, the live cables join together (WITHOUT the live of the light fitting), the neutrals join together (WITH the neutral of the light fitting) and the earths join together.

Now, this is where it goes t!ts up for most people. You then have ANOTHER cable connecting the light fitting to the switch, again twin and earth. However, the conductors of this cable SHOULD be live, live and earth. Basically, two red (or brown) conductors and one bare, ready for sleeving. Aternatively, and more commonly, it's live, neutral and bare and the neutral (black or blue) is sleeved or taped as live (red or brown). The same should be done at the switch. HOWEVER, even more commonly the neutral is not sleeved or taped and therefore is not identified as live.