Discuss PC-Case conducts energy in the Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

D

Deleted member 110184

Hello there!

First of all, i am not an electrician and i am absolutely new to this. I have a Problem with my PC and am seeking for advice on how to handle it. I hope this is the right place to post this Thread, if not please let me now.

I just built a brand new Computer with all new components but i have the problem that my PC-Case conducts energy. This means as soon as i touch anything that is made of metal from the case i can feel the energy on my finger. It really is a constant shock and not just a short shock you would have with static electricity. First thing i did was to buy an outlet tester. I checked all the outlets for errors but all of them are all right.

PC-Case conducts energy {filename} | ElectriciansForums.net

I do have an UPS between the Outlet and my PC. So what i want to test now is if i plug out the energy from the Outlet and i run my PC only over my UPS, if i still get that shock. The Problem is, i really dont know how to measure the Voltage of the PC Case correctly. I do not know where i have to put the Voltage and the Ground Pin from the Multimeter to measure the Voltage of the case. Can anybody help me out with this??

Thanks!

1st thing is to measure from the case to a known earth. try on both ac and dc ranges. test again with the UPS out of circuit.

Either the case of your computer is not effectively earthed, most likely or your socket is at fault but your tester indicates it is not.

@westward10 Thanks for your reply. Many people in other forums said the same, this is why i bought this tester in the first place. This is why i want to measure the Voltage when my PC is connected only to the UPS, so i can rule the outlet out as an error source.