Discuss running before i can walk! (CPS) in the Business Related area at ElectriciansForums.net

D

D_Dubz

Hi all
I'm looking to start my own business and go out on my own soon and am interested in joining a competent persons scheme. I have nearly 7 years experience in mainly commercial/industrial including a 4 year apprenticeship, 17th edition and just completing 2391. According to NIC application I have to have been trading for at least 6 months to join, but I cannot find anything similar to this on the Elecsa website?. Obviously I realise they have to inspect work I have carried out, but would prefer not to waste to much time and money on the LABC.
I prefer to do commercial/industrial work and would eventually like to join the NIC approved contractor scheme but need to have 2 years supervisor experience for this. How hard is it to find this kind of work without this?
How do you notify about Part L?

Any help is much appreciated

hi, i was thinking of joining niceic domestic installer and my business hasnt been running for 6 months yet. Iv got the application form and i cant see anywhere on it were it says you need to be trading for 6 months?? can anyone verify this before i send off my money to them .thanks

hi, i was thinking of joining niceic domestic installer and my business hasnt been running for 6 months yet. Iv got the application form and i cant see anywhere on it were it says you need to be trading for 6 months?? can anyone verify this before i send off my money to them .thanks

I spoke to them about this last week, they're not to worried about it as far as i could understand, give them a call.

There must be lots of applicants who haven't been trading for 6 months.

Unless I have interpreted it wrong this iswhere I got my info:

DI:
http://www.niceic.com/library/B6003-130309-Rules-for-Registration-of-DI.PDF

"1.1 Conditions for Initial Registration:
The enterprise shall:
a. have carried out domestic electrical