Discuss Should a shower isolator have a flickering dim light when off? in the Electrical Wiring, Theories and Regulations area at ElectriciansForums.net

Reaction score
Hi, I'm not an electrician, but wanted to ask for some professional opinions. My parent's shower isolator stopped working, so they enlisted the help of someone who they say is a 'qualified electrician'... Anyway, the neon is flickering when in the off position, and a brighter (non-flickering) light when on. The shower appears to work fine (8.5kw shower with a 45a pull switch). When my father questioned it, he was told "it's to show there's power going through", yet the last switch didn't. Do some switches do this? The current switch is a British General 45a £8.95 jobbie from Screwfix

I'm concerned about the safety of it all, especially considering my father attempted to fit the new switch and only after a few hours of failing did he then ask for help. The "electrician" didn't check cables for burnt parts when he came.

Thanks

Short answer no it shouldn’t be flickering, I’d say either the switch is faulty or someone’s damaged it during installation...

How do I find qualified electricians? Is there a directory of people who are qualified or do I just look out for people who advertise themselves as sparks? Thanks
top right of your screen, in the blue band there's a search window. type in "electrician worcester". there's a couple there could help you.

Thanks, what do you mean "tails"?

So, the flickering is an indication that it's unsafe?