Discuss Starting up my own company in the Business Related area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

Reaction score
Currently in the process of setting up my own company while still being employed. I am a 18th edition Approved Electrician in Scotland. I looking a bit of information to which courses or qualifications that would be required for me to go out and self certify the work I’m doing. I’m already aware of the 2391-52 I&T but is there anything else?

Hi Mate

I am 19 years old and currently an automation maintenance engineer (3 year BTEC/NVQ LVL3 apprenticeship) at a large industrial firm and hold 18th edition wiring regs along with the C&G2391-52 certificate. I have always wanted to start up my own business due to all the perks it comes with and perhaps do some contracting work abroad (once this whole covid thing is over).

I have not yet started setting up my own company but doing research into how I could go about it and what kind of experience I would need, perhaps any recommendations on the next steps I should take? I don't have any experience working on domestic installations, just large industrial 3 phase machines which I carry out maintenance, fault diagnosis and inspection/testing.

I feel like were in quite the similar position in the sense that I would like to set up my own company whilst being employed.

Regards
Jay

Not sure about Scotland but guessing its the same as England, have a look at competent persons schemes requirements.. I think there is either domestic installer (Not sure of requirements for that) or electrician which you need NVQ 3 and 18th edition, to be assessed as doing EICR's you need 2391. More importantly for domestic though you need some building skills as you will be taking up floorboards, relaying carpet, plastering etc etc.