Discuss switch wire???? in the Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

S

sparky1502

hello...i dont really understand the switch wire it being a permant live ,in a domestic lighting circuit. can some one explain it please...many thanks...sorry if it sounds like a stupid question

If you only have one cable at your switch then one of the conductors is permanently live. The other one only becomes live when you flick the switch, enabling you to turn your lamp on and off

im a 2nd year trainee....just brushing up on my knowledge by asking a few questions..

i did a job the other week just moving a lighting circuit in the loft to make way for a new hatch...i pulled the fuse out ( rewireable fuses) put still got a belt..i thought i'd turned off the juice i also checked with my volt stick the onsite electrician said something about the neutral being fused too... the cu was a mangled mess.

Last edited by a moderator:
You need to brush up on safe isolation, locking off and checking for dead before you go any futher then young man if you want to live to a ripe old age

yes i thought the same thing as i got a pretty perm..but i thought that taking the fuse out cut the supply and ive only just started dont earthing and protection in college it confused me as to why the neutral would have to be fused as does not carry a load

Don,t trust those volt sticks in my opinion mate, them who checks and checks again live to test another day my freind, get a proper martindale tester could prove a very good buy for you .
A neutral is classed as a phase conductor, never take things for granted, you CAN get feed backs if the con/unit is incorrectly wired.