Discuss Using SWA armour for earth on a sub-mains supply in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

K

keen-apprentice

Hi all, long time reader first time poster. I am an apprentice that has mainly done domestic work, but more recently we have been doing commercial jobs (which i much prefer lol), i do really enjoy electrical work and I'm keen to learn more, which means i ask a lot of questions.

The last couple of weeks has been working with SWA's, re-routeing a 70mm 4 core (as in 3 phase conductors and neutral conductor - apologies in advance if my terminology is wrong here) for a sub-mains to a 3 phase distribution board. Also pulling in SWA 10mm 3 core cables (as in phase/neutral/CPC conductors) for the individual circuits that will be fed from said distribution board.

When it came to glanding off the SWA's the electrician i was working with wasn't really interested in answering any questions about using the 70mm 4 core's armour for earth, or what bonding was required for the banjo's on all the smaller SWA's.

So my questions are:

1. The 70mm 4 core SWA sub-mains runs from the plant room main distribution board, to the new TP distribution board. The SWA armour is used as earth for the sub-mains, but what size cable do use as for the fly lead from the gland's banjo to the main earth bar in the new distribution board?

I think the spark i was working with used 10mm, is that large enough given the fact that it is such a short run?

I have had a look through my books, i did a bit of googling, and did a couple of calcs, and after a lot of head scratching using the adiabatic equation i calculated you would need a 13mm cable, which surely would mean you would need a 16mm earth cable not 10mm?