Discuss Want to get back into the trade after 25 yrs out in the The Welcome Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

Reaction score
Hi all.

I completed an apprenticeship via the CITB way back in 1992 (C&G 236 part 1&2 + JIB AM1), I think it was the 16th writing regs at the time. My employer at the time apparently “liked” me a lot and decided to have me managing/supervise the contracts/jobs instead of being on the tools, so I never got to do the AM2. I eventually left that job after 2 years and started a totally unrelated business. After 25 years out of the game, I’m now wishing to get back in the trade. I’m looking to go self employed and work on domestic installations/repairs/callout only.
Whilst I was an apprentice, I found the work and study very easy, I was very good with my hands and was a fast learner.
What I’m really asking is, what do I need to do to become a fully qualified electician and get back on the tools?
What qualifications do I need to gain, what practical experience would I need to gain?
As I’ve been out of the game for so long I haven’t got a clue. But I’m still practical and good with my hands... and I still have my Elliot Lucas pliers.

Life has thrown me a curve ball and I’m having to make adjustments.
Any advice would be much appreciated chaps.

Hello
If you just wish to do domestic work register with a Part P scheme NICEIC, Elecsa, Stroma etc. Get some public liability insurance and a multi functional tester. Do you feel competent to work alone including the testing and producing the paperwork? If not, maybe a couple of years working as a sparks mate is what you need.

Hello