Discuss What features are a must have on a multifunction tester? in the Electrical Tools and Products area at ElectriciansForums.net

Reaction score
Hi all

Im just starting out working part time with an electrician whilst studying for qualifications.

My mentor mentioned that I should keep my eye out for a good second hand tester.

But what features are essential and what are nice to haves?

My mentor mainly works on domestic properties but to complete the NVQ I believe you have to gain experience in commercial and industrial which suits me fine, so I’m after a tester that I can use on the different setups.

I’m in no rush as I’m only just starting out but if I have an idea of what bits I should prioritise I can keep an eye out for the right bit of kit.

Cheers

Nick

A multi function tester or MFT, such as the Megger 1552, would be essential. The basic principles of testing apply to all areas of electrical work.

If you are going to be doing anything commercial you may need the requirement to test Earth Electrodes, not all MFT's are capable of that test, have a look for something along the lines of the Fluke 1663, but compare to others, most manufactures publish what their MFT's are capable of and compare their models like for like, page 5 for Fluke: https://dam-assets.fluke.com/s3fs-public/166x____umeng0100.pdf

Thought a little explanation may be required on the Fluke MFT 1664 auto test sequence.

1/2 test at 0 then 180 no reset required
1 test at 0 trip, reset, then 180 trip, reset
5 test at 0 trip, reset, then 180, trip, don't reset, carry out dead tests, then reset.

Hi all

Im just starting out working part time with an electrician whilst studying for qualifications.

My mentor mentioned that I should keep my eye out for a good second hand tester.

But what features are essential and what are nice to haves?