Discuss 240v Single Pole baseboard heater - thermostat wiring in the Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

JDLang76

DIY
Reaction score
Im a DIY novice. I have changed central AC thermostat, light fixtures, switches etc. This has me stumped.

I have a 240v single pole baseboard heater with an old mercury thermostat. I would like to replace that thermostat with a Honeywell TL8130A.

Question 1 - Can someone explain the wiring to me? It is my understanding that voltage should come from the breaker to the thermostat and then additional wiring should deliver that voltage from the thermostat to the heater. However, there are 2 lines in the wall. Each line is hot with 120v when the system is at 40 degrees and inactive. When using a volt meter with each wire/ground, they read 120v. When reading them together. they read 240v. I don't understand how this wiring setup works.

Question 2 - Can I use that Honeywell thermostat? It is single pole, but has 4 wires.

Any detailed explanation of this wiring situation would be deeply appreciated. Honeywell was not able to help.

Im a DIY novice. I have changed central AC thermostat, light fixtures, switches etc. This has me stumped.

I have a 240v single pole baseboard heater with an old mercury thermostat. I would like to replace that thermostat with a Honeywell TL8130A.

Question 1 - Can someone explain the wiring to me? It is my understanding that voltage should come from the breaker to the thermostat and then additional wiring should deliver that voltage from the thermostat to the heater. However, there are 2 lines in the wall. Each line is hot with 120v when the system is at 40 degrees and inactive. When using a volt meter with each wire/ground, they read 120v. When reading them together. they read 240v. I don't understand how this wiring setup works.