Discuss 45 AMP DP ISOLATOR SWITCH TO IMMERSION HEATER QUERIED BY ELECTRICIAN in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Reaction score
Hello All,

Sorry if this is a ridiculous question - as I am not an Electrician I wanted to check whether my initial thoughts were correct before answering a question from a neighbour

I have been asked by a neighbour whether a 45 Amp DP switch with Neon indicator is a correct isolator switch for an ordinary / vented copper Hot Water Cylinder Immersion Heater with a Digital Timeswitch.

Apparently a friend {calling themselves an Electrician / possibly with Electrical knowledge ?] who was doing her a favour by replacing her Immersion Heater stated that the switch should not be any higher rated than 20 Amp.

My neighbour is a pensioner and cannot afford to engage another Electrician to ask about this.

My initial thoughts were that as it is O.K. BECAUSE it is rated higher than a 20 Amp DP switch and as the switch is just to isolate the Electricity to the Digital Timer and Immersion Heater ?

Chris

Hello All,

Sorry if this is a ridiculous question - as I am not an Electrician I wanted to check whether my initial thoughts were correct before answering a question from a neighbour

I have been asked by a neighbour whether a 45 Amp DP switch with Neon indicator is a correct isolator switch for an ordinary / vented copper Hot Water Cylinder Immersion Heater with a Digital Timeswitch.

Apparently a friend who was replacing her Immersion Heater stated that the switch should not be any higher rated than 20 Amp.

My neighbour is a pensioner and cannot afford to engage an Electrician to ask about this.

My initial thoughts were that as it is O.K. BECAUSE it is rated higher than a 20 Amp DP switch and as the switch is just to isolate the Electricity to the Digital Timer and Immersion Heater ?

Chris