Discuss C&G qualified sparks eligible for Australian skilled visa?? in the Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

L

Loopytunes

I've lived in Australia for 2 years on working holidays and am interested in moving there to live. When I was wanting to train to be a spark I looked everywhere for an apprenticeship but couldn't find one anywhere and was told I was too old (25) so I did a electrical trainee course (ridiculous that people were there with vans and cards all printed up to go out and work, some after 3 weeks!) and looked for mate work so I could learn, which I've been doing for nearly 2 years, some domestic and some commercial. I know how a lot of people feel about those 6 week courses and I feel the same, but for 2 years now I've been working with sparks, pestering them constantly for info and techniques etc, and reading every book I possibly can so I understand what I'm doing and why. A lot of the proper sparks in my area sub to me now over apprentice-learned people too so reckon I'm doing ok so far.

Anyway what I want to know is, if I go self employed for x amount of years will I be able to emigrate on the strength of my experience then and my C&G qualifications or will I have to do my NVQ/AM2? Some of them are Level 3 I've been told that helps? Anyone know of a migration agent/site I can call?

And a company called "tradies down under" does an adaption course to aus regs/voltage in london, is this worth doing?? it's expensive. Any info, contacts or links that could help me please chuck em up :)

Cheers and Beers,

Loops

get in touch with australia house. they should be able to advise on what you need to have .

John -

EAL Level 2 for Domestic Electrical Installers (Part P Certificate)