Discuss Can anyone help with my bathroom light pull chord switch? in the Lighting Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Reaction score
I’ve got my P16th edition papers in 2006 so not a total beginner (I’m plumber as my trade tbh) but this pull chord bathroom light is not working and if trips the consumer unit .

Basically the old switch broke so I took a photo of the wiring before fitting a new light.

And it doesn’t work.

The brown an red wires are live and the two connect together are live too. I test them with this blue pen tester .

I’m gonna include photos of everything so any help be great thx

TL;DR
I know what I’m doing but basically I’ve no idea what to do here. I’ve just copied what was there before

Attachments

• image.jpg
    362.2 KB · Views: 39
  • 0A51F626-B8EB-43C0-A335-3A621B71B4C9.jpeg
    350.7 KB · Views: 33
  • 4130C53C-8A03-426D-8263-9CE4ACF0C088.jpeg
    408.8 KB · Views: 31
  • IMG_7254.MOV
    4.6 MB
  • IMG_7255.MOV
    14.6 MB
  • 4718D26D-FFEC-473F-A58D-2F3949F94275.jpeg
    408.8 KB · Views: 32
  • 1A3B9300-6B5C-477B-ABED-6DAC4415246E.jpeg
    350.7 KB · Views: 35
  • 5F1F3656-4B2C-463A-BB7D-6379D6B21998.jpeg
    419.9 KB · Views: 35
  • image.jpg
    690.5 KB · Views: 33
  • image.jpg
    353.3 KB · Views: 27
What I would expect at the pull cord position is that the switch would have been between the red and brown wires, the two earth cores properly sleeved and connected to the switch earth terminal (if there is one), and the black and blue wires connected together by a wago or terminal block isolated from everything else.
Then at the light fitting, traditional connections of L, N and E.
Is this how you have tried wiring it?
Your old switch is two way, but it looks like only the two screws on the left side (third photo) have been used- I'm assuming there aren't enough wires for a two way circuit. Is there another switch for this circuit?

Tidying up of wire lengths and sleeving needed!